Genocya- “Ever Descent” Album Review

Genocya has been around forever. Seriously, I wasn’t even in high school when these guys got together. With age comes experience and Genocya is a perfect example of that fact.

Although it doesn’t have the best production value availabe, “Ever Descent” is definitely a very solid release for the band to have under its belt. Some songs may get repetative at times, but that is easily forgivable with the heaviness of each track.

Genocya doesn’t try to fit in with any bands or please the crowd with what is popular. They are thrash, death metal, and I even heard a very, very slight bit of punk in some of the tracks.

I do have to comment on the very professional appearance of the packaging and the CD itself. When it appeared in my mailbox it was a very pleasant surprise, as I’m used to recieving burned CD-R copies with Sharpie scribbled on it. Thank you for that, Jim!

If you look past the production value, which is not great, but also not completely terrible, you’ll find an album that has long needed to be released, and it’s from a band that has long needed to be recognized as a leader in Michigan Metal. It’s worth a listen, my friends! 

-Doc

Re-visit of the Warped Tour post

Since I didn’t actually go to Warped Tour 2011, I thought I’d ask around about it and get everyone’s opinions and they all seem to have pretty much the same complaints and compliments.

The biggest complaint I heard was that the location was terrible. Comerica Park’s parking lot is far too small to house that many people. It would have made way more sense to have it at the Birch Run Expo Center, or even DTE’s area where they have Mayhem Fest every year. There is way more room.

Second, I heard complaints about the people there just being rude as fuck. Not the bands, at least not that I’ve heard, but the crowd. Punching random people, shoving people out of lines, cutting in line, throwing random shit at people? Are we people or are we fucking monkeys? Next thing you know we’re going to be throwing feces at one another.

Also, a lot of bands didn’t even want to play the Detroit date, which is basically like cheating the fans out of their money.

Apparently Warped tour did have highlights, those being: Winds of Plague, Miss May I, The Acacia Strain, Of Virtue.

The bands didn’t go sit in their trailers, they actually came out and hung out with fans, which was cool of them, especially since a lot of bands didn’t show up to the Detroit date.

All in all I’d have to say Warped sounds like it sucked, just like I thought it would.

Band of the Day- Battlecross

The latest band to join Metal Blade Record’s roster is also our band of the day. Battlecross is fast, heavy, and strangely catchy.

The main reason they’re the band of the day is because I had “Leech” stuck in my fucking head all night last night.

Their show is phenomenal and their music is unique to Michigan, and its always a pleasure to see them because they’re some of the nicest dudes in the Michigan Metal scene. They’ll show up early and leave late, proving that just because a band gets signed it doesn’t mean that their egos take over.

Their record is going to be coming out on August 2nd (U.S.), so make sure not to spend all your weed and booze money on just weed and booze, spare some on this album and even buy a shirt.