Band of the Day- Rings of Saturn

Yeah, I know they’re already growing and many of you already know about them, but I still think its necessary to point these dudes out. If you’re a fan of technical deathgrind, or as they call it “Aliencore”, this band is for you. Sweeps galore, insanely fast riffing and very impressive vocals all come together seamlessly to form Rings of Saturn.

This is one of the bands that grow exponentially. I remember seeing them on myspace just forming two years ago, and now they’re on major tours, selling tons of their records and have a rabid fan base.

People always complain that there are no new innovations in metal these days, but Rings of Saturn are proof that there are still ways to expand the world and genres of metal.

http://www.facebook.com/ringsofsaturnband

Horrible Band of the Day- Bruxism

Zack Wood and Gino Settimo finally got their way. I could ignore it no longer.

Bruxism is a two piece grind band from Fenton, MI. I just hope they stay in Fenton, MI.

Bruxism is a condition in which someone habitually grinds their teeth. I think Bruxism’s goal is to literally give people Bruxism. The music is unorganized (expected) and they really, really want to be the outcasts in the Michigan scene.

They have  ASKED to be the Horrible Band of the Day. Cry for attention or affirming their cause? I don’t know really, but I do know that these guys, regardless of their musical genre, are dudes who really do support metal.

Seriously, just stop trying to be outcasts so hard because it makes you guys seem like you’re just out for attention.

“You like me, you really like me!” by Doc Brown

Thank you Mike Mullaly for reminding me to do this article.

I get the fact that bands want people to like them, I really do, but why are bands forcing people to like them before we can even listen to them on Facebook. If we haven’t seen you live, we don’t know if we like you. You’d be surprised how often I won’t listen to a band because they try to force me into liking them just to listen to their music.

Having fans should be earned, not gained through trickery and deception. If you want people to like you for your music, let us listen to your fucking music. It really is a simple fucking concept. If you participate in this practice, having people “like” you on Facebook does not mean that you are a popular band or that your music is good, it means that you tricked a ton of people into liking you, because you’re so unsure of your music that you require the self gratifying “likes” to fulfill your sense of accomplishment.

What happened to the days when bands earned their fans?

Social Networking is not a replacement for going out and getting what you deserve, its an aid to get your name out in as many places as possible. Playing shows is the way to earn fans, not Facebook. The Social Networking-only bands are a fucking joke that really need to have their punchline come and knock them the fuck out of our scene.