“Not the Usual Article.” by Doc Brown

Over the last few months Michigan Metal has exploded. There are shows eevery weekend, bands are once again helping each other out, and venues are starting to realized that they depend on the bands just as much as the bands depend on them.

While I’d like to take some credit for this, I can’t.

There are a lot of people who see me as some kind of crusader for Michigan Metal and the bands that make up this scene. I’m really not. I just call bullshit when I see it and I’m certainly vocal about bands, venues and promoters when they fuck up. That isn’t anything special.

What IS special is that I’m providing a means for everyone in the scene to have a voice. When I first started writing as Doc Brown I didn’t expect much support. Hell, I didn’t even expect anyone to read my articles.

As long as I can remember I’ve wanted to do something to benefit the metal scene. I honestly don’t know if what we are doing here at MDB is helping the scene at all. I personally feel that we are.

I’ve said numerous times on my site and my facebook that Doc Brown is a fictional character, but lately I’m not too sure. If enough people believe in Doc Brown and the Michigan Metal scene, why should I try to fictionalize my role in trying to revive something that I care about?

Metal Doc Brown may have started out as a fictional entity, but I think I’ve finally come to a point where I’m comfortable in saying that I AM Metal Doc Brown. I’m going to stand behind everything that I say. I’m embodying the role entirely. You all may not think that any of this is important, but it definitely is to me.

A couple of weeks ago I nearly passed the role of Doc Brown on to another writer. I was tired of the constant bullshit that comes with the territory.

I’m glad that I didn’t. After very nearly bailing on this creation of mine, I began to realize several things:

There are quite a few things in my life that I have started and given up on. Whether it be bands, relationships, books, etc. Metal Doc Brown is something that I created. I’ve built this fucked up community and I’m proud of everything I’ve accomplished so far.

I do not make any money by being Metal Doc Brown. I don’t get any freebies, merch, CD’s or any other physical rewards. I work full time and run the site as well as I can. You guys have no clue how much work goes into being Metal Doc Brown.

On average I receive 100 emails a day. I get texts from a ton of people feeding me information about what is going on in the scene. I am constantly on the facebook page interacting with everyone. I get phone calls at all hours of the night. I sacrifice my free time and receive nothing in return.

By nothing I again am talking about money and other physical rewards. I do receive a sense of self-satisfaction. I’ve finally done something that I can be proud of. If all of us stood our ground and spoke up when we needed to, this scene would be even better than it is now. Don’t let people walk all over you just because you’re afraid that it will hurt your bands reputation. If you’re that worried about it, send me an E-mail and I will personally take out whoever is hurting this scene.

We all have something to say and I think its about time people started fucking listening.

” We are Legion, for we are many.”

Leave a Reply

