“Why Must I Feed You Trolls?” by Doc Brown

It’s been awhile. Much has happened in the world of Doc Brown and I’m too lazy to cover all of it in one post, so take what you can get.

The other night I attended Dagon’s CD release show at Mac’s Bar in Lansing, MI. After much drinking both at the bar and party afterwards, followed by much throwing up, I began to think more and more about how much fun I had had the previous night.

I saw quite a few faces that I hadn’t seen in awhile and some faces that I’d never seen at all. I met some new people, made some new friends and possibly enemies, and offended quite a few women with my token pick-up line of “What’s up, Sluts!?”

This article is not about my two week alcohol binge, however.

It is about the venues that we use, abuse, and enjoy/hate.

I don’t know if I’m the only one who has this opinion but there are some places where you feel more at home than usual:

Mac’s Bar

 The Machine Shop

 The Wesley Foundation

Old Jamestowne Hall

The Blackened Moon

And that is only naming a few of my favorites.

I’m not sure what it is about these venues. Maybe its because of the history that the venues have or maybe its just my history with the venues. I grew up going to Jamestowne Hall and the Wesley Foundation every weekend. I remember seeing See You Next Tuesday and For The Fallen Dreams play for 12 kids. I can remember seeing Dead to Fall, Winds of Plague, Oceano, Besieged, The Yellow Sign, and a ton of other bands destroy Jamestowne for Mosh Or Freeze III.

I want everyone to take a moment and reflect on how you feel about the venues you grew up in.

Description:

Crowded ass venue

Crowd surfing

Pits

Fights

Brotherhood

Gang chants

Merch Tables

Now, that is what I want to see the scene becoming. We’re making progress, that’s for sure. I haven’t had anything bad to say in quite awhile and it’s not for lack of looking. You guys are stepping up your game and I’m honestly excited that things are looking up for the first time in a long time.

Keep it up and I won’t have anything to write about, which is exactly what I’m hoping for.

Also, has anyone noticed that there are other people cropping up trying to do the same thing that we here at MDB do? Just making sure that they know I’m watching their dumb asses fail miserably.

Article Up, Pants Down.

MDB

2 thoughts on ““Why Must I Feed You Trolls?” by Doc Brown

  1. well said \m/(^.^)\m/

  2. I’m excited!!! It’s time that there’s a scene in which people support the bands and shows and look out for each other.

    And anytime someone is doing a good thing, he’s gonna have haters and copycats. Take it as a compliment. And keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

